An Introduction | Emily Rebecca

Seeing as this is my first blog post I thought an introduction was in order. Hi everyone I’m Emily or Em if you prefer, I really don’t mind and welcome to my blog that you’ve just so happened to stumble upon. Some of you may be here from my Twitter page @propertyofnegan where I’ve begged and pleaded for you to give me a chance but I hope that some of you will have found your way here on your own accord.

So I suppose you’re wondering why you’re here? That’s a good question and the simple answer to this is that I’m branching out of my comfort zone and trying new things. In my last year of sixth form I was dead set on going to university but at the time I didn’t really know what I wanted to do. University seemed like the ‘norm’ so I decided I’d apply for a few different English based courses including English Language, English and Creative Writing and English and Film. I was so sure of this plan until I went to an applicant day and had a taster session. This made me realise that this couldn’t be further away from what I wanted to be doing so on April 16th 2016 I withdrew my university application so that I could take a year out to help further decide what I wanted to do.

Now I know what you’re thinking, why didn’t I just try to contact the universities to change courses? I know that sounds like a pretty logical thing to do and I did actually consider this. Truth be told I really don’t have a firm idea what I want to do at university but I know I want to venture in film and television whether this be through general studies or production. This is why I thought blogging alongside other things would be a great idea to help to get to grips with what would be the best for me. Hence, My Year Out And More was born.

I should probably tell you what this blog is going to be about but to be honest, at this moment in time I really don’t know. All I know is that I have some exciting things planned over the course of my year out and I can’t wait to share them with you all. I’m also hoping to publish some of my writing on this blog (that is if I can figure out how) to help myself and my progression. You should also know that I’m a huge fan of film and TV so I’ll also be dabbling in some reviews of various films and shows that I see.

Basically, this blog is for me just as much as it’s for you. I may hear from one or two of you, I may hear from a number even bigger than that but no matter how many of you tag along I really hope you enjoy the ride.

On another note, I’ve also set up my YouTube channel under the name Emily Rebecca so if you would check that out too and subscribe I’d be eternally grateful! I hope to be uploading some content to there soon as well!

2 thoughts on “An Introduction | Emily Rebecca

Leave a Reply

