Review: Tom Felton Meets The Superfans | Emily Rebecca

I stumbled across this documentary a couple of days ago, don’t ask me how because I haven’t got a clue but I thought it was something that needed to be shared. So the basic concept of this documentary was that Tom Felton, that’s Draco Malfoy to you muggles, wanted to let himself into the world on the other side of the fandom world. Throughout the documentary Tom explores the homes of Potter fanatics, attends conventions and hangs out with the cast and creators of the franchise he called home for so long.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 15.30.53
Tom in his famous role as Draco Malfoy

The documentary itself would be all well and good if you weren’t into this sort of thing but if you’re like me and a super nerd at heart it really strikes a cord. Personally it took me a long time to find a community where I felt as though I could be myself and showcase what I actually wanted to so hearing the stories that different people had to tell really hit home.I totally related to hearing about how conventions felt like a community and the fan bases of shows made people feel at home because I felt exactly the same way as I imagine a lot of people reading this would too.

Another thing about this documentary that was really nice to see was how positively fandoms and fan bases had helped the mental health of different people. Now personally, I’ve never suffered from any major mental health problems which I’m very thankful for but I know a lot of people who have suffered from some and this type of thing has helped them so much. I think often there is a negative connotation around having a ‘celebrity obsession’ or ‘fandom obsession’ but truthfully it can make people feel so much better, just to have that one little route of escapism.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 15.29.50
Tom, alongside superfan Tina

The underlying sort of issue with Tom and his journey is that he wants to find out why a particular fan named Tina has followed him for so many years. To begin with you can tell he feels a little hesitant but by the end he actually has the chance to have a chat with Tina to find out her point of view. When it comes down to it, Tina just says that by following Tom it basically made her feel happier and love seeing him grow up, giving her a sense of family and to be honest that’s all fan bases are are family.

If you can find this documentary anywhere online I 100% urge you to watch it. I honestly was nearly brought to tears at some points just because it resonated so much with me and it just made me feel so gooey inside. Honestly, one of the best things I’ve watched in a long time.

There’s also some Potter cameos along the way so I suppose that’s another reason!

Leave a Reply

