Review: Suicide Squad | Emily Rebecca

It’s finally here, after months of anticipation the long awaited DC film ‘Suicide Squad’ arrived in theatres on Friday to be viewed by God only knows how many fans across the world on opening weekend. I myself was so excited to see the film on the day of it’s release and let’s just say I wasn’t disappointed. I will say before getting into this review that I have limited knowledge of the DC universe, whilst knowing who the characters were and their backstories I am in no way a DC expert. I suppose this is a review from the point of view from a noob DC fan.

Personally, I have a soft spot for the character Deadshot and had done before actually seeing the film itself, much like I imagine most people did for the infamous Joker played by Jared Leto. Without spoiling anything let’s just say that Will Smith pulled off the role, creating a relatable character despite being a part of Task Force X. I was also eager to see Margot Robbie shine in her role of Harley Quinn and again this did not disappoint. Robbie stole the show as Harley portraying her in her own style, yet still keeping her true to her DC origins. Many of the comical moments throughout the film came from Harley where you found yourself having a little chuckle to yourself amongst everyone else in the cinema.

Something must be said about Leto’s Joker. Whilst he did do a good I personally think that he was way overhyped, especially for the amount of time he actually appeared in the film. I don’t really think he added anything to the plot itself and the film could’ve easily been created without him. I’m just going to leave it at that before I have 3927494 fans ready to murder me.

Someone I was very pleasantly surprised at was Cara Delevingne as Enchantress. Having never seeing her in anything before I really didn’t know what to expect but I honestly think she did so well in that role. I really didn’t know all that much about the character before going into the film so it was nice to see her with basically brand new eyes.

Overall, I’d say this film is well worth a trip to the cinema to see and if you’re on the fence about going to see it just go for it anyways. It’s not the greatest by a long shot but it’s most certainly not the worst. Also stick around for the post credits scene!

Follow me on Twitter to keep up to date with my blog posts as well as uploads to YouTube.

Leave a Reply

