Review: Stranger Things | Emily Rebecca

Okay, this seems to be the Netflix series that everyone under the sun seems to be talking about at the moment so of course I had to give it a try! For those of you who have been living under a rock the Netflix original show Stranger Things revolves around a group of kids after one of their friends Will, goes missing. As you can probably guess from the title not everything is as simple as a missing kid in this show but I’ll leave it to you to figure out why if you haven’t seen it already.

Now I’m going to be honest here, I was going to give up on the show after the first episode, I know shocker! I’m one of those people who usually has to be hooked on a pilot in order for me to enjoy a TV series but after hearing so many people going on and on about this show I knew I had to give it another go and I’m so glad I did! Granted it did take me to about episode three to actually get hooked on the show but after that I finished it within a day. I don’t know what it was that actually got me hooked but it just suddenly hit me like damn I need to watch this ALL!

header3-stranger-things-80s-movies
Caleb McLaughlin as Lucas, Gaten Matarazzo as Dustin, Finn Wolfhard as Mike and Millie Bobby Brown as Eleven

It’s really difficult to talk about say one stand out star in this series as the whole cast carried the show, especially the younger cast members. Between Finn Wolfhard, Gaten Matarazzo and Caleb McLaughlin who play Mike, Dustin and Lucas and Millie Bobby Brown who took on the role as Eleven, the show was most carried by actors and actresses younger than their viewership. There of course are some exceptions to this including Winona Ryder and David Harbour who in my opinion played the roles of Joyce Byers and Chief Hopper incredibly well.

Overall I found the Netflix series to be incredibly compelling and engaging , unlike anything I had seen in a very long time and knowing now that the show has been picked up for a second season I can’t wait to see where they go after that finale. Let me know what your thoughts were on the season and what you’d like to see in season two. If you liked this post please like, comment and follow my blog to keep up to date with all my posts!

 

Leave a Reply

