The Walking Dead: Season 7 Episode 1 – Review | Emily Rebecca

I need consoling after this episode. My emotional state is really not okay right now so I suggest we all start a support group for the people we lost in this episode because God only knows we need it.

I’m just going to start right off the bat (I promise that is not intentional) with the deaths of Glenn and Abraham. These were the two people I predicted to die at the hands of Lucille but I never in a million years thought I’d be as traumatised as I am right now. Let’s start with Abe, now I’ll be the first to admit that he wasn’t my favourite character but you can’t deny that he put himself forward for the rest of his family in his final moments. He also literally took it “like a champ” as Negan said because even after the first contact with Lucille he made sure he still stood up to Negan. The reactions of the people are around him said enough about how much this cast cares about their work, they literally poured blood, swear and tears into this episode. I also must talk about when Negan swung Lucille and soaked Rick with Abraham’s blood, that was awful.

Now I know this next topic is going to be hard for a lot of people, hell it’s hard for me to write but now I’m going to move on to Glenn, my sweet innocent Glenn. I really don’t know how I’m going to cope after this episode, giving that Glenn was one of my favourite characters on the show. This being said, I’m so glad they gave him one of the most amazing done deaths the show has ever seen and I’m happy that they stayed true to the comics. Yes I’m talking about the eyeball *gags*. Glenn was always that character that never seemed to be able to die, everyone thought he was going to be invincible right until the very end so making him go out at the hands of Lucille was an even bigger blow. Even in his final moments all Glenn wanted to do was tell Maggie that he loves her which to me was the epitome of their relationship. They both loved each other unconditionally and will do until the end of time – I’m not crying I promise.

w630_cfe0e8a0edc58a562182eb7f3cd38661TWD401GP05060146-1380316837.jpg
I’m going to miss them so much
Speaking of Maggie, I think Lauren Cohan knocked it out of the park (I really need to stop with baseball puns). Maggie has literally lost everyone and everything so I swear down she and the baby better be okay. Even though she was so emotionally and physically drained she still took on that leadership role at the end of the episode, rallying up everyone else. I can’t wait to see what Hilltop brings for her in the coming season as she’s going to be such a force to be reckoned with.

All in all this episode was so brilliantly done but so gut-wrenching that it was almost too upsetting to watch. It’s set the season up to be something I think none of us have seen before.

P.S. I blame Daryl.

Leave a Reply

