The Walking Dead: Season 7 Episode 3 – Review | Emily Rebecca

We’re on easy street
And it feels so sweet
‘Cause the world is ’bout a treat
When you’re on easy street
And we’re breaking out the good champagne
We’re sitting pretty on the gravy train
And when we sing every sweet refrain repeats
Right here on easy street

Guys we have a new TWD anthem right here. I’m kidding obviously but this song must have caused just as much torture to Daryl as it did to me and every other viewer watching this episode. I was actually pretty apprehensive going into this episode as whilst I like Daryl, he isn’t one of my favourite characters (don’t kill me) and I didn’t know if I wanted to see a Daryl centric episode. However I was pleasantly surprised and actually really liked a lot of this episode.

the-walking-dead
Austin Amelio as Dwight

One of the main things that I liked about this episode was actually seeing Dwight! In the comics Dwight is one of my favourite characters, especially where we are now in the comic books so bringing him into the TV series made me so happy. Something in particular that made me very happy was that Negan actually said why Dwight got the burn on his face and that it was down to the iron which I imagine some non comic book readers didn’t pick up on but it was really nice for those of us who did hear and understand it.

Another thing that I’m guessing was influenced by the comics was a little line that Negan said that again I think a few people may have missed. Negan says to Dwight,

“Pick whoever you want as long as she says yes.”

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-12-15-57
Negan in the comic book series reminding one of the Saviours of the rules.

In the comics it is clear that Negan does not tolerate rape or any form of sexual violence so the fact that they were able to drop this in so early in Negan’s arc makes me appreciate the fact that the writers have included lots of little things from the comics. They’re paying so much attention to every part of Negan’s personality and attempting to portray this on screen.

Something that really upset as I imagine it upset a lot of other people also was when Daryl finally broke down at the sight of Glenn’s photo. Daryl usually is seen to be a character who is very held together but perhaps the potential guilt that he is feeling over Glenn’s death was just too much for him. It’ll be interesting to see how this particular storyline progresses over the course of the season.

If you have anything interesting to say about this episode be sure to let me know as I’d glad to hear it!

Leave a Reply

