The Walking Dead: Season 7 Episode 8 – Review | Emily Rebecca

IT’S THE MID SEASON FINALE!!! And what a mid season finale it was. From Spencer’s guts to Team Family reuniting there’s so much to talk about in regards to this episode so I suppose we better dive into it.

Alexandria

So the major focus of this episode was of course on Alexandria and the fact that Negan and the Saviours were there for pretty much the entirety of the episode. So much went from Negan sitting to having dinner with Carl, Olivia and Judith to him eventually killing Spencer so it’s probably better that I just summarise. Spencer’s death was particularly satisfying for comic book readers like myself and the fact that I couldn’t stand Spencer just makes his death even better. I felt bad for Olivia though and I do think that it was a bit of a dick move for Rosita to try and kill Negan in that moment. She was never going to be able to kill him in that moment with all of the Saviours, let’s be real. Also Eugene being taken is 100% Rosita’s fault and yes I blame her.

Rick and Aaron

I almost had a heart attack when I thought Aaron was going to die, not cool guys not cool. I really enjoyed this scene and I think there’s so much more to come in terms of the note that Rick and Aaron found as well as the boot we saw at the end of that scene. I don’t think it’s the Whisperers because in terms of storytelling it seems way too early so I have no idea who I think it is.

The Hilltop

screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-14-48-06
Team Family going to GET SHIT DONE

YES! Everyone who knows me knows that I’m 100% a Maggie fan so seeing her, Enid and Sasha this episode was a massive fist pump from me. I also loved Maggie’s interaction with Gregory at the beginning of the episode because she knows exactly what’s she doing in order to manipulate him and I can’t wait for her to become leader of the Hilltop. The end scene was also perfect for me, it’s taken so long for the many different stories that are being told this season to come together that finally getting that closure of Team Family coming together was the icing on the cake.

I can’t wait for the All Out War storyline to come about when the show comes back in the new year. Let me know how you’re going to cope with the long wait between this episode and the next as well as what you think is going to happen with the story.

Leave a Reply

