A notable mention to Bates Motel | northernedit

A Notable Mention to Bates Motel

I can’t actually believe Bates Motel is ending so soon. Now I’m not going to pretend that I’m the world’s biggest fan of Bates or that I’ve watched it since it first starting airing back in 2013 because truth be told I only binged it a few months ago. The only reason for this is because I knew Freddie Highmore and Nestor Carbonell would be at Walker Stalker Con London and that if I wanted to meet them both I would need to catch up on the show. Even after meeting them both in London I was only midway through season 3, to which Freddie said “Get to season 4!”. We won’t talk about how quickly I got through season 4 and how much I didn’t want to see the end of it. Although I only started watching the show alongside the audience midway through season 5 I thought a show of this impressive standard needed a standalone dedication post as I was blown away by it’s calibre. So yeah, here it is.

I fell in love with the Bates family as soon as I started watching the show. I fell in love with Norman and Norma and then Dylan as he quickly came into the picture. I couldn’t help but feel sorry for Emma who had so much to deal with, on top of everyone else’s problems. I didn’t know how much I needed Norma and Alex together until it happened and I didn’t realise how heartbroken I would be by Norma’s death until she finally got the happiness she deserved in season 4. Without the amazingly talented actors in Bates I doubt I would’ve loved the show so much. Farmiga, Highmore, Carbonell, Thieriot and Cooke are so perfectly suited to their roles respectively and I couldn’t imagine anyone else playing these characters. A mention must also be made to creators Carlton Cuse and Kerry Ehrin who successfully engaged a brand new audience with the story which stemmed from Hitchcock’s Psycho.

To wrap this whole ‘homage’ post as it were I’m going to give everyone a little insight into my top 3 Bates moments. Please note I wouldn’t say this were my favourites as such because that implies I actually enjoyed them and believe me I didn’t enjoy one of them.

Bradley’s Death (3×10 Unconscious)

17

I remember watching the first 3 seasons of the show on the UK Netflix before season 4 was added and before the season 3 finale I had already immediately ordered the season 4 DVD so I could continue my binge straight away. I honestly think this was one of the best decisions I have ever made because I really don’t think I would’ve been able to wait another day to continue the series. To me Bradley’s death was such a turning point for the show and for Norman as a character and it will forever remain in my mind as one of my favourite Bates moments.

Alex finds out about Norma and Caleb (4×06 The Vault)

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 21.45.06.png

I never knew how much I needed Norma and Alex until it finally happened and I think this why I adored this scene so much. I much like many other people almost died when after Alex finds out about Norma and Caleb’s past and when he says “Where are we going?”, well you may as well have buried me there and then. Everyone who knows me also knows that “All I wanted was my freaking window fixed!” is one of my favourite lines in the entirety of the show.

Norma’s Death (4×09 Forever)

I’m still very upset to talk about this so please don’t mind me crying whilst writing this part of this blog post. As I said before I only watched the show a few months ago so I had seen a few spoilers although I avoided 99% of them. I knew Norma was going to die but I didn’t know how it was actually going to play out so when it did the tears did not stop flowing. I’m so glad no one saw me in that state. I still miss Norma and although we do have Mother she just isn’t Norma and I’ll cry about it to myself for forevermore. 

Honorary mention to Norma Bates screaming and Vera Farmiga’s poor throat after doing it for 5 seasons.

Anyways although I haven’t watched the show for very long I’ll hopefully be tweeting on Twitter and crying alongside the USA stream at stupid o’clock in the morning next week. Just know though, I’m still not ready to check out.

Leave a Reply

