Wonder Woman: Review | northernedit

Let’s talk about the DCEU movie that seems to be shaking everyone to the core for all the right reasons, Wonder Woman. I had such high hopes for this film and let me tell you I was not disappointed. This film was a perfect example of when you do something right you can really do something right because as far as DCEU films go in my opinion this was the best one yet.

Okay so I’m not sure if anyone else picked up on this sort of ‘running theme’ throughout the film but I loved the innocence of the entire film, in particular Diana’s innocence. Diana lived a sheltered life in Themyscira, not knowing much of the outside world so when she does eventually leave with Steve she is almost childlike in the sense that everything is so new to her. To me this was one of the most endearing parts of the film as a whole and probably one of the reasons why I warmed to Diana as much as I did.

In terms of my favourite part of the film itself, I’m sure that I’m just repeating what most other people have said by saying that the no man’s land section had to be my favourite. Between the action, beautiful camera angles and phenomenal soundtrack I had goosebumps when watching this. I’ve continued to listen to the soundtrack since I saw the film and continue to get shivers and feel such a sense of empowerment when blasting it through speakers in my room.

A special mention must be made about the fact that this film was primarily female lead, both on screen and behind the scenes. Gal Gadot, Robin Wright and Connie Nelsen were phenomenal on screen with their characters working seamlessly together. I’m also going to mention Elena Anaya and Lucy Davis who added so much to the film despite not being on screen as much. I’m going to kiss Patty Jenkins’s feet at some point for the plain and simple reason that so many people had 101 things to say when they found out that a female director would be behind this film. Those same people are now praising the film for all it’s glory.

In terms of the wonderful male cast members Chris Pine, Danny Huston, David Thewlis, Saïd Taghmaoui, Ewen Bremner and Eugene Brave Rock provided comedy and drama which all fit perfectly with the film.

The only slight criticism I have and this is probably only because I am particularly picky with films was actually to do with the final battle scene. I won’t give it away for anyone who hasn’t seen the film but I thought that the scene was built up and built up but was slightly short of the climax it deserved. Again this is me being so picky and overall I thought the whole film was amazing just that one tiny moment wasn’t my favourite.

As said before overall I bloody loved this film and would recommend it to anyone who has lost faith in the DCEU as this went above and beyond my expectations.

Leave a Reply

