Why the 13th Doctor means so much to me | northernedit

So the new Doctor was announced this week and YES it’s a woman! Jodie Whittaker has just been cast as the first ever female Doctor in the popular classic British TV show Doctor Who and for some bizarre reason a lot of people, in particular men are not happy about it. I’d just like to butt in here and let the people who completely disagree with this decision why I don’t agree with them in any way shape or form.

Growing up it was not seen as the ‘in thing’ to be a fan of anything within the geek/nerd world which for me was a problem. I always loved the likes of Harry Potter which although popular was not the ‘in thing’ which was a little disheartening at such an impressionable age. I joined the Doctor Who fandom when David Tennant graced our screens as the eleventh Doctor with companion Rose Tyler (Billie Piper) at his side. I never missed an episode on a Saturday evening, it became a ritual but none of my friends shared this interest so I eventually sort of stopped watching. They may have called it ‘boyish’ or ‘rubbish’ because they simply had never given it a chance but it didn’t really incline me to watch it anymore.

Christoper Eccleston, David Tennant, Matt Smith and Peter Capaldi have all given their own flare to the Doctor which have all been appreciated in their own way but Jodie Whittaker is going to bring so much more than that! She’s going to influence young people and I hope young girls and show them that this isn’t a genre purely for the boys in their class at school. She’s going to show them that girls can be badass too and that they can put their mind to anything. Most important of all she’s going to show them that it’s totally okay to be a little different and stand out, I mean come on she’s THE FIRST FEMALE DOCTOR!

pri_46786983
Jodie Whittaker as 13

So yeah, I’m really glad the BBC made this decision as it really has been a long time coming and to all those people complaining that the Doctor shouldn’t be female please remember this.

The Doctor is a fucking alien you morons!

Leave a Reply

